It’s award season – Nominate your colleagues for the HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction by February 1, 2020

It’s award season! Last year you may have received an invite from Sam Hazen, chief executive officer of HCA Healthcare, to virtually watch the 2019 HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction ceremony. Not only will we get the chance to virtually watch the 2020 ceremony, team members across Mission Health have the opportunity to nominate their own colleagues for these exceptional awards. Discover the award categories, how to nominate your colleagues and important dates, all on this page.

Celebrating and commending individuals

HCA Healthcare has a long tradition of celebrating and commending individuals for their contributions to their communities and our organization through the Frist Humanitarian Award, Innovators Award and, most recently, Excellence in Nursing Award. Today, we call these three significant awards the HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction. These awards honor exceptional individuals whose professional and personal lives reflect the patient-centered, entrepreneurial and humanitarian values upon which HCA Healthcare was founded. The exemplary service and selflessness of each recipient challenges and inspires us all to live and preserve our company’s mission of caring for and improving human life.

What are the award categories?

How can I nominate a colleague for an award?

The process starts with you, our team members. Your facility has designated an award coordinator who will work with your local Human Resources department to distribute peer nomination forms to colleagues. Go to the Nomination Form page if you need additional nomination forms.

Keep an eye out for an email from your award coordinator for additional details you may need to know specific to your location.

Who is my facility’s award coordinator?

Christine Gowing Mission Hospital/Home Office
Katy Pless Asheville Specialty Hospital
Maria Dorr Physician Services Group (PSG)
Mayra Cummings Transylvania
Nicky Estes Angel
Linda Connolly Blue Ridge
Angelene Fortune McDowell
Erika Citak CarePartners
Lindsay Stalowy Highlands Cashiers, Eckerd Living Center


When do I need to submit my nomination?

Each facility will send their six award recipient packets to the NC Division office for a second round of judging for the Enterprise Award. Your facility’s nomination packet needs to be submitted for review by February 1, 2020.

Need additional nomination packets or want to learn more about the nomination process and what to expect? Go to our Nomination Form and Process page.


Contact your local facility’s award coordinator for answers.

Keep an eye out for an invite from Sam Hazen to virtually tune into this year’s HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction ceremony on June 26, 2020.


(Visited 846 times, 1 visits today)