Journey to Excellence

We did it! Read the latest. 

Mission Hospital Earns Prestigious Magnet® Designation

Mission Hospital Journey to Magnet®

On September 29, 2017, Mission Hospital began its journey to becoming a Magnet®-designated hospital, and October 1, we became one step closer with the push of a button. The Magnet Recognition Program® recognizes healthcare organizations for quality patient care, nursing excellence and innovations in professional nursing practice. Developed by the American Nurses Certification Center (ANCC), the Magnet® framework is the leading source of successful nursing practices and strategies worldwide.

The ANCC provides Magnet® designation to recognize nursing excellence in three areas: Clinical Expertise and Outcomes, Workplace Environment, and Patient Experience. The Magnet®-designated hospital demonstrates a high degree of regard for registered nurses at all levels and in all roles in partnership with the interprofessional team.

About the Magnet Recognition Program®

The Magnet Recognition Program® advances three goals within healthcare organizations:

  • Promote safety and quality in a setting that supports the professional practice of nursing
  • Identify excellence in the delivery of nursing services to patients/families through interprofessional collaboration
  • Create a practice environment that supports professional development

Based on the research conducted in the early 1990s the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) established the Magnet Recognition Program®. It recognizes healthcare organizations’ efforts at recruitment and retention of registered nurses. As a result an environment is created where the professional practice of nursing is valued and celebrated. The program also seeks to provide a vehicle for disseminating successful nursing practices and strategies.

Read more about the Magnet Recognition Program®.

Magnet Site Visit Toolkit

Pathway to Excellence®

The Pathway to Excellence® program recognizes acute care and long-term care organizations for positive professional practice environments where nurses grow and advance. To earn Pathway designation, an organization must demonstrate that it has integrated six practice standards of care and 64 elements of performance into its operating policies, procedures and management structure.

Mission Health’s sister hospitals in the North Carolina Division are pursuing this designation, including:

  • Angel Medical Center (submitted application on March 28, 2019) – Read more
  • Blue Ridge Regional Hospital (submitted application on May 9, 2018) – Read more


(Visited 1,440 times, 1 visits today)